I’ve got lice!

Pubic Louse-dorsal

I now have alcohol specimens of head lice (thanks to the Veterinary School at UMass and Bill Krinsky, an affiliate of the Entomology Dept.).  These specimens are much more valuable to me to see the 3D form and to be able to turn them over, look at the sides, and generally to better understand them.  I also am using the high powered microscope in the VP lab down the hall.  It has a digital camera affixed to it, so I can take my own photos.  Here are a few:

Head Louse-ventral

Head Louse-ventral II

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’ve got lice!

  1. Florine says:

    Hi! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted to give a
    quick shout out and say I genuinely enjoy reading through
    your articles. Can you recommend any other blogs/websites/forums that
    deal with the same topics? Thanks for your time!

    • Hi Back,
      I am somewhat out of it in terms of what is going on on other blogs. Museum perparators are notorious for not writing about what they do (usually, there is no time). I am doing it, primarily as a log of how I do things, because my memory stinks and I get 2 or 3 years out and I can’t remember what I did! I also want the information to be public, especially if the experimenting succeeds. As you probably saw, I am in the middle of some R&D on translucent leaf making. I’m excited about the possibilities of prints on vacuform leaves. We’ll see… Good luck with what you do.
      Michael

Leave a Reply

